What is SR-22 Insurance?
An SR-22 is not an insurance policy; it’s simply a financial responsibility form that proves an individual has the minimum liability insurance as required by law. In order to have your driver’s license reinstated, you must file an SR-22 form with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to prove that you are covered by the proper amount of liability insurance. The filing is done by your insurance company. Allowing the SR-22 to lapse or to be canceled at any time will require your insurance provider to submit an SR26 form to your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles, which will then suspend or revoke your driver’s license.
Why would I need SR-22 insurance?
If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked due to any of the following offenses or if you are involved in any of the following conditions, your state may require you to submit an SR-22 insurance filing in order to reinstate your driving privileges.
- Driving without auto insurance
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Accumulating too many points against a driving record
- DUI or DWI offense
- Reckless driving
- Refusal to test for DUI or DWI
- Uninsured accidents
- Child support or neglect cases
- Legal judgments
How long is proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) required in crash, conviction or judgment cases?
Typically, when a driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, they will be required to keep an SR-22 filing in effect with the Alabama DMV for three to five years; 36 months in Louisiana. In Alabama, you are required to file SR-22 insurance documents for 3 years if your driver’s license was suspended or revoked or in the event that you gave false proof of insurance.
Types of SR-22 insurance
Alabama and Louisiana have two types of SR-22 insurance – owner SR-22 insurance and non-owner SR-22 insurance. Owner SR-22 insurance is coverage for registered vehicle owners. Non owner SR-22 insurance covers drivers who do not own a vehicle.
Even if you don’t own a vehicle, you’ll need insurance if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked – you will need to buy non-owner SR-22 insurance to have your driver’s license reinstated, and you will need to be covered by SR-22 if you occasionally drive a vehicle owned by someone else.
If you are caught driving your vehicle or lending it to another person to drive without it being properly insured, your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked. If that occurs, you will be required to carry mandatory SR-22 insurance.
What happens if my SR-22 is cancelled?
If an SR-22 expires or is canceled, your insurance company is required to issue an SR-26 form, which verifies the cancellation of the policy. If this form is filed before your policy term and probationary period are over, it waves a red flag, alerting authorities that you may be driving without meeting your financial responsibility, and the state may revoke your driving privileges.
If you are a USAgencies customer, we’ll cancel or terminate an SR-22 by filing a separate form with the state (an SR-26 in many states), generally 10 days before the SR-22’s expiration.
We’ll file the actual SR-22 form with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to show proof of insurance for you. Once we file your SR-22, your license suspension will be removed and you can drive again legally.
If you’re looking for the cheapest SR-22 insurance, give us a call. We’ll find the right coverage you need.